MS TB: THINK FOR YOURSELVES!

From 10/25/08

I was listening to Dave Ramsey this afternoon, and he read the following piece which is on his website today to share with everyone.  It soo expressed what I always feel…and especially during this election season.  I know I’m about to start some mess by saying this, but I’ve been listening to Mary Mary’s new CD, and they told me I better let it out LOL!  But anyway, I get soo tired of people thinking they sound soo astute by talking about how they feel about the president/presidential candidates and the economy, but sound soo ignorant because what they say has no political basis.  I’m tired of people putting their mouth on Bush saying crap like, “I can’t wait ’til he’s outta there so we can have a good economy,” or “I can’t wait ’til he’s outta there because when Clinton was in I had a job.  Now that Bush is there I don’t have a job!”  You don’t have a job because you were LATE!  You don’t have a job because your work ethic needs tweaking!  You don’t have a job because maybe even your company was going through some rough times.  Whatever the reason is that you don’t have a job, trust me, I’m sure it had nothing to do with who was in office.  Did the president hit snooze five times every morning for you?  Did the president make you come in late, take a two hour lunch, and leave early?  Did the president make you slack off at work?  Did he make the sales go down therefore causing you to get laid off?  The president has nothing to do with the gas prices either!  So, for those of you who think that Obama (or McCain) is gonna have all the answers to solve all of our economic problems then you’re gonna be in for a rude awakening.  People don’t realize that these things happen in cycles.  If you remember history class we’ve been through this before, and if Jesus doesn’t come back for a long time, we’ll go through it again!  If Obama happened to be president right now you’d hate his guts too!  Just remember:  apart from the war (which is a whole ‘nother issue), the president has nothing to do with what’s going on right now, the presidential hopefuls are not going to be saviors and heal the land, and YOU need to decide what’s best for our country based on the facts (personally…a Biblical world view) NOT on what mama ‘nem talk about, what they say on the hot talk radio programs, and whatever else is going on.  Think for yourself!

Ok, that was an extremely long preface lol, but here’s the article:

An American Creed

I Do Not Choose to Be a Common Man

It is my right to be uncommon-if I can.

I seek opportunity-not security. I do not wish to be a kept citizen, humbled and dulled by having the state look after me.

I want to take the calculated risk; to dream and to build, to fail and to succeed.

I refuse to barter incentive for a dole. I prefer the challenges of life to the guaranteed existence; the thrill of fulfillment to the stale calm of utopia.

I will not trade freedom for beneficence nor my dignity for a handout. I will never cower before any master nor bend to any threat.

It is my heritage to stand erect, proud and unafraid; to think and act for myself, enjoy the benefit of my creations and to face the world boldly and say, “This I have done.”

By Dean Alfange

______________

*Originally published in This Week Magazine.
Later printed in The Reader’s Digest, October 1952 and January 1954.

The Honorable Dean Alfange was an American statesman born December 2, 1899, in Constantinople (now Istanbul). He was raised in upstate New York. He served in the U.S. Army during World War I and attended Hamilton College, graduating in the class of 1922.

What are your thoughts on this?

