MS Throwback: Growing Up

From 9/9/06

Have you ever stopped to look at your life from a different perspective?  Sometimes it’s hard to do, but it is so rewarding if you do.  I was coming home from grocery shopping tonight, and I was realizing how much I’ve grown up over the years.  Like, I was passing by the neighborhoods I pass by everyday, driving down the same street I travel everday, but I just really looked around.  I thought to myself, “hmmm…this is a really nice area.  Nobody lives up here but me.  My parents are in another city, my friends are miles away, and I am really living up here by myself.  Gosh, I’m a REAL adult now!”  I remembered how in high school I longed for graduation day so I could go to college, get away from home, and have more freedom.  When that day came, then I longed to have a car so I can just get up and go whenever I want.  It took a while, but when that day finally came, I longed for a more fulfilling job.  Now that THAT day has come and gone guess what I long for now?  You know it:  marriage, kids, and all the plans that God has for me.  I wonder what will be next?  I think we spend too much time longing for the next big thing instead of enjoying where we are now.  Do you agree?  We need to just slow down and take in God’s goodness.  Thank Him for the now.

God, I thank You for everything that you’ve done in my life, but right now I want to thank You for what You’re doing now.  I thank You for everything that You’ve been revealing to me over the past few weeks.  I thank You for protecting me on the highways that I drive so fast on.  I thank You for coming through for me even when I don’t see it.  Thank You for my friends, and for showing me which ones I should keep and which ones need to leave.  Thank You for every opportunity I get to spend with them.  Thank You for such a wonderful church to serve in despite how tired I get of serving sometimes.  Thanks for keeping the “big picture” in front of my eyes in those moments.  God, for everything You’re doing, I thank You and give You praise.  You’re worthy of all of it!  You’re INCREDIBLE!!!
Amen.

What are your thoughts on this?

