Racism?

You know what I was thinking about today?  I was thinking that although there are some levels of racism that still exists, everything/everyone that appears to be racist is not.  You know how some people (espcially Black folks) will be quick to call someone a racist because xyz didn’t happen?  Like, we didn’t get the job/promotion, but some caucasian person did, so the boss is racist?  Although that probably happens a lot, I doubt it happens as much as we say.  I think people are afraid to admit that they may not actually have been qualified or were a good enough candidate.  But anyway, I think sometimes that we refuse to believe that people may not like us–period!  Not liking someone has nothing to do with race.  If someone doesn’t like you, then there’s not much you can do to get them to change their mind.  When someone doesn’t like you, they’re not going to treat you well, choose you, or even acknowledge you.  People may not like the way you talk, the way you carry yourself, the way you dress, your outfit, your hair, your accent, the way you treat people, or even the way you look.  What does that have to do with race?  I really wish that people would stop pulling out the race card and jumping to conclusions when they don’t get their when interacting with someone of a different race (or even the same race)!  It’s so immature and childish.  Grow up and realize that everyone you come in contact with may not like you–period–and stop assuming everything is about race.

2 thoughts on “Racism?

  1. uniquelyawesome says:

    I totally agree, and thanks for reading! Stop by anytime and take part in my rants and raves 🙂 But anyway, you’re so right. Whatever happened to the whole “melting-pot” part of America. Yeah, we live together in “peace,” but does that really make us a melting pot? Like you, I wish I could say it’s coming soon, but I HIGHLY doubt it. HEY! I just got an idea for a new blog. Thanks! 🙂

  2. ACW says:

    (found your blog through ‘vargil’)…
    Well said. What *I* was thinking about today is that because I am caucasian, it is often presumed that I have no valid opinions on the topic of race relations (and folks have told me as much). While I think diversity is a wonderful thing, and while I understand some cultures’ needs to remain distinct, a part of me wishes that we could all just blend into one great big happy amalgam so no one would or could be singled out on sight for discrimination. Another part of me hopes that our society will become civilized enough that everyone will look beyond colors of skin to the contents of character. The optimist in me says: that day is coming soon; the cynic in me says: yeah, right.

What are your thoughts on this?

