Taking Risks

Traditionally I am not one to take risks.  I like to live a very safe, semi-predictable life.  The unknown scares the heck out of me–probably because I am a control freak!  Anyway, I like calculated risks.  However, I am starting to see that the risks that I will be taking in the next year are really rocking my world!  Making the decision to quit my full time job to go to school full time again is QUITE the risk and not normally my M.O.; but I’m so glad that I did.  I’m starting to see how things will start to roll out as far as my future is concerned.  Before, I was just TOTALLY dependent on God to make this happen, but now I can see how more of the pathway is being lit up in front of me.  And of course, I am STILL totally dependent on Him because He’s going to have to provide for me, but now I’m not totally clueless.  It’s very liberating to see a little more of the journey.  I can’t tell you how frustrating it is to know exactly what you’re going to do in life but have NO IDEA how it’s going to get done–especially for a control freak planner like me!  But I’m sure that’s why God gives me such tiny baby steps because if he gave me more details all at once I’d probably take them and run with them and potentially mess things up.  That God, man……He ain’t no dummy!

What are your thoughts on this?

