It’s the God In Me

I had a cool experience yesterday.  I went to my favorite Chick-Fil-A for lunch today.  Let me back up and explain why this is my favorite Chick-Fil-A.  I know you probably think they are all the same, or maybe even that all fast food joints are the same; but they are not!  I don’t know what it is about this place–or maybe I do–but the Chick-Fil-A at Roswell center is the BEST!  The people there are the most wonderful people I’ve ever come across at a quick service restaurant.  The food is phenomenal!  Now, I know…it’s a chain…all the CFA’s should taste alike.  I’m telling you, THIS CFA’s food is awesome.  It’s always just the right temperature, and everything is sooooo crispy!  I like my food crsipy.  To put the icing on the cake, they have a hostest there named Robin.  OMG, she makes the CFA experience extraordinary.  In case you’ve never experienced it, CFA has hosts & hostesses that not only keep the dining room clean, but also they serve you to a certain degree.  If you need more drink they will fill it for you.  If you need a booster seat they will get it for  you.  If you need anything at all they will accomodate you as best they can.  Robin, who just happens to be a Christian and understands and exudes grace based hospitality, is the hostess at this location and is phenomenal.  Ok, back to the present.  Today, I ordered a strip salad, but the strips were not ready.  True, I’ve never waited for anything at this restaurant, but having been in the fast food industry before I could understand.  So I stepped to the side and waited.  I saw that there was a party tray being made, so I figured that was the hold up.  No worries.  Now, Robin had noticed me standing there for quite some time–15 minutes to be exact–and got  a little upset that I waited so long.  But, you know, I understood the situation and was cool.  Yes, they were cutting into my half hour to eat.  Yes, I was hungry.  No, I did not enjoy the wait, but things happen!  Anyway, I finally got my food and ate.  I decided that I wanted a milkshake.  So, Robin asked me if I wanted more tea, and I told her no because I wanted a milkshake.  So, in a “Robin-like” fashion, she went and made me a shake so I wouldn’t have to wait for it when I went to go pay.  She’s soo awesome!  Anyway, I sat there a couple more minutes and went to pay for it.  I didn’t know if she had rung it up already, so I asked her if I needed to go to a certain register.  She thought about it and said, “well…it’s my treat!  You’ve been so patient, you’re always pleasant, and you are so encouraging to me, you deserve it!”

Stuff like that happens to me all the time.  I meet people, and they just fall in love with me!  True, I think I’m quite a lovable person, but I can’t explain why random people seem to adore me–except “it’s the God in me!”  You know, it’s not like I’m extra sweet to some and trying to impress others.  I’m just me!  For example, my self-proclaimed godmother.  I met her at church.  She was serving in the guest reception, and she asked me how I found out about the church.  I told her the story which involved walking there.  This woman did not know me, but she offered to take me to and from church whenever I wanted to go.  As our relationship grew, she just become like an aunt.  You know, mama-like, but not really.  She would buy me clothes, let me stay at her house if I needed somewhere to go.  She even let me stay in her apartment one weekend when she wasn’t there.  And, you know, apart from just being a good person, I can’t really think of any reason why I deserved someone like her.  Did I need her?  Heck yeah!  So maybe it was a divine appointment.  I don’t know.  What I do know is that I have “fans” that adore me, and I have no idea why.  All I can say is, “it’s the God in me!”

What are your thoughts on this?

