A Good Laugh

I had the best private laugh at lunch today as I recanted this story in my head.  Last year we got new chairs in the office–really nice, black, leather, adjustable chairs with lumbar support.  My boss–Dennis–decided to put them together for us so we wouldn’t have to spend any time away from the phone.  I hear him saying “OMG” to himself, and finally he asked if I would come see him.  He’s a very short (I’d say no taller than 5’4″), middle aged, caucasian man from Jersey.  So, he’s standing real close to me and whispering things like, “OMG…do you see this?  I don’t know what to say!  I didn’t know!  Can they do this?”  Very confused, I asked him what he was talking about.  He pointed to the box that the chairs came in, and I saw that he was very flustered and concerned about the word “negro.”  I immediately bursted out in laughter which made him feel a little better, but still not sure why I was laughing.  When I calmed down, I said, “Dennis, that doesn’t say negro [NEE-gro].  It says negro [NEG-gro]!  Negro is Spanish for black!”

What are your thoughts on this?

