Are We All God’s Children?

Ok…it’s time!  Time for what?  Time to address this!  In my last post (lots of posts actually), I said, “…but that’s another post,” so here’s the post!  For those who may not have read it, basically I made the comment that we are all God’s creation, but not all His children. I know I’ll get some emails on this one because I know I’m going to jack more than half of your doctrines up!

So, I said that, and I believe it.  I don’t remember where I first heard it, but it made sense.  It’s quite interesting that Charles Stanley was talking about it on the radio this morning.  He referred to this scripture:

“Those who accept my commandments and obey them are the ones who love me. And because they love me, my Father will love them. And I will love them and reveal myself to each of them.”  John 14:21 (NLT)

I’ll go into his explanation first and then my own how it was explained to me.  Dr. Stanley’s question was basically if God loves us all anyway, then why would He have to make a distinction here if He loves us?  Contrary to popular belief, there ARE varying levels of love with God!  You can see that as you read through scripture with how God always points out Israel saying that they are His chosen people.  Is that fair?  Not really, but He’s God.  So basically what this scripture is saying is that even within His own creation there are different loves.  He LOVES us all, but some of us He loves differently.  It’s a more intimate love as Dr. Stanley so eloquently said it (you can hear all this if you order his series on obedience by the way).

SO, as my Facebook status said yesterday, if you don’t obey God, then you don’t love Him…point blank.  As painful as that is to receive, it’s true!  If you get any other interpretation from this scripture I’d love to hear it.  Anyway, Dr. Stanley says that God loves His creation (everything/one He created which is ALL of us), but the only ones who are called “children” of God are the ones who obey Him which leads me to my explanation.  I’m not a parent, but I am someone’s child so I can speak to this.  A child is born into a family.  The child will resemble the parents in some way.  Maybe she will look like them, talk like them, act like them, or have their sense of humor.  Whatever the case may be, there is something about that child that will resemble her parents.  Even if the child is adopted or lives with other family, those similarities still exist.  However, oftentimes we have friends who when we meet their parents we say, “were you adopted?”  Or maybe we’ll say, “THAT’S your mother/father?”  Why do we say that?  Probably because they look NOTHING alike, they behave opposite of what we see the parent do, and whatever else.  How does this relate to being a child of God?  It’s really quite simple.  Just like a natural child, you have to be born into God’s family.  That’s called salvation, and is often described as being “born again.”  So, if you have not accept Jesus into your heart as your savior and the Lord of your life (and being baptized does NOT do this!), then immediately you do not qualify to be called a child of God.  Now, I know…that sounds REALLY harsh especially if you’ve had something different taught your whole life.  You know I just can’t leave you hanging though.  I want you more than anything to be a child a God so that we can spend eternity together in Heaven–because if you’re not a child of God, then…well, you won’t be there quite frankly.  I want you to be there, so here are some questions you can ask yourself as you do some introspection to be sure that you are in fact a child God.  And, if you know for a fact that are, then go through this anyway, and see where you need to improve so that you can be a better son/daughter.  We ALL need work in something!  Make sure you talk to God about this today and either join His family, stop behaving as a stepchild and come back to His family, or commit to being a more obedient child.

  • Do you talk like Him? When you speak, do you speak the truth from God’s Word?  Do you refrain from speaking negatively & using foul language?  When people ask you for advice, does your counsel come from your revelations of God’s Word and your quiet time with Him?  Or does it come from what you heard your friends say who are in the same situation or worse?  Do people get convicted (not condemned) when they speak with you?
  • Do you act like Him? Do you love what God loves, and hate what God hates?  Do you love your neighbor and treat them as well as you treat yourself?  Do you forgive?  Are you generous?  Are you not ashamed to say you are related to Him?  If you are, He’ll be ashamed to claim you too–in front of EVERYONE–when it’s time for all of us to be judged!
  • Do you look like Him? I know…we don’t know what God physically looks like, but people should be able to see Him through us.  How?  The fruit of the spirit!  You can read about it in Galatians 5:22.  Do people notice that you are different from everyone else–in a good way?  Do you belnd in?  Jesus never blended in.  If He did, then people would not have spotted Him out and draw a crowd around Him.  Can the Jesus in me identify with the Jesus in you, or will I be left confused?
What are your thoughts on this?

