Bass Ackward

You ever feel like you’re stuck in a place whether it’s a job, relationship, or some other situation in your life?  I feel like that now.  “The system” is soo stupid!  Check this:  you’re born to parents who are doing the best they can.  They didn’t go to college, so they can only guide you but so far.  You grow up, go to college, and major in something that you can make money with–or something that sounds really cool, like marine biology!  You graduate $50,000 in the hole, and IF you find a job, you’re only making $30-35k.  You work for a little while, and after a few short years you find yourself frustrated and unfulfilled.  You ask your parents for advice, but they can only tell you what worked in their era which is just give it a few more years–you’ve ONLY been there for five years!  “But mom, I’m frustrated and I hate my job!”  “Well, baby, you just have to do what you have to do.”  However, you finally discovered what you’re passionate about, and marine biology is not it!  So you decide to go back to school and study underwater basket weaving.  HOWEVER, the edcational system says, “Hey, this guy already has a degree!  He’s independent and has a full time job, so what does he need our money for??  He can pay for school himself!”  WHAT KIND OF SENSE DOES THAT MAKE??  You know what happens after you graduate and get a job?  You buy a car, a house, get married, and have kids!  How the heck do they expect you to pay for school when you have your own house to take care of?  I just don’t get it.  It’s almost like they’re telling us that we’d better pick the right major from the jump because you can’t come back anymore!  Sure, you can get a master’s degree, but I don’t see how that would be beneficial if you’re looking to break into a totally new area.  I mean, aren’t you supposed to have a background in whatever you’re getting a master’s in?  But anyway, I just don’t get it.  The system encourages us to continue our education, but they don’t want to pay for it.  Speaking of paying for it…now they want you to get a cosigner on private student loans now!  WHAT?!  OH, oh, so NOW you want to tell me that I’m irresponsible because of debt?!  First they want me to show that I’m fiscally responsible by getting into debt which is the most backward thing I’ve ever heard.  Then, I pay off the debt and want to buy a house or a car or something, and they tell me that I’m not fiscally responsible  because I don’t have enough debt.  THEN, I decide to go back to school and get a private loan, and now they’re saying I’m not responsible enough to handle a loan on my own?!  What kind of crap is that????  WHY IS THE SYSTEM SO BACKWARD?!  All I want to do is pursue my purpose in life, but “the man” wants to keep me bound where I am.  Yes, God is in control and everything will work out, but does anyone else see how backward our society is??  And don’t get me started on the “go to school so you can get a good education to get a good job to live happily ever after” crap.  That’s yet another reason why everyone should have something else going on the side.  If not, you are destined to live a life of mediocrity in debt forever.  Sure, you may make six figures if you land the right job.  You’ll just live in higher “quality” debt and mediocrity.  There is no freedom like economic freedom, but ironically in the land of the free it is no where to be found–unless you create it for yourself.

What are your thoughts on this?

