Music Mondays Kickoff!

He Wants It All
by foreverJONES

VERSE 1
There’s a voice that cries out in the silence
Searching for a heart that will love Him
Longing for a child that will give Him their all
Give it all
He wants it all

VERSE 2
There’s a God that walks over the earth
Searching for a heart that is desperate
Longing for a child that will give Him their all
Give it all
He wants it all
And He says

CHORUS
Love Me
Love Me with your whole heart
He wants it all today

Serve Me
Serve Me with your life, now
He wants it all today

Bow down
Let go of your idols
He wants it all today
He wants it all today
He wants it all today
He wants it all

VERSE 2

CHORUS

BRIDGE
All of you
More of you
Wants it all today
(repeat  3x)
He wants it all today
He wants it all today
So give it all

VERSE 1

DUDE!!!  Are those some lyrics or what?!  Lemme tell you…the first time I heard that song I was TAKEN by it!  A lot of you know how frustrated I am with “gospel” music today.  You know how little I listen to the radio because of that.  However, every now and then I’ll “check in” on what they’re playing to see if I’m missing anything.  You know…if something new came out.  So, one day as I was checking in, this song was playing.  With all of the tired ol songs they play on that station, this song DRASTICALLY stood out.  Honestly, I was very confused the first few bars.  I was like, “uhhh…..what’s this?!”  It took me a few months to figure out who the artist was, of course, since they never tell you who sings it.  Anyway, I’ve been in love ever since.  The rest of the CD is awesome too.  Anyway, whenever I find a song that I love at first hearing, I always have to think about it and decide if I’ll get tired of it I keep listening to it.  If I decide that I will, then I try not to listen to it often so I won’t wear it out quickly.  This song I decided that I SHOULD never get tired of it, and if I do, then I’ll need to check my spiritual “attitude” and see what’s going on.  I mean, how can you grow tired of God wanting it all?  The way I see it, this song should be the anthem of a Christian’s life!  As we strive to become more like Jesus, God is asking for more and more of us.  You ask, well why does He have to ask?  ‘Cuz we’re humans and we like to do what we like to do!  Often times it’s not what God wants to do.

“There’s a voice that cries out in the silence….”  God is a gentleman.  Although He desires to have our full attention, He is NOT going to talk over whatever it is that has our attention.  God doesn’t leave us; we leave Him.  When we get far away from Him, He’s not going to yell out, “HEY…WHERE ARE YOU GOING,” after us.  No, He says that His sheep know His voice, and he who has ears tuned to Him will hear His still, small voice in the midst of whatever is going on.  If you can’t hear Him, then quiet your life so you can hear better!

“…searching for a heart that will love Him.”  Isn’t a shame that God would have to SEARCH for someone that loves Him??  I mean, with all these Christians around here He has to search?  Yes, sadly.  I’ve mentioned it before that the church is largely growing lazy in our love for God.  We’re getting more and more politically correct.  Issues that used to be “secular” now dwell in the church.  What has happened to us?  This modern day, drive-thru, microwaved, instant grits mentality has made us soft and impatient.  We don’t SEEK after God like we should because He doesn’t show up when we think He should and how we think He should.  Who are we to tell God what He should do?  God wants us to love Him, spend time with Him, seek Him, and dwell in His presence.  Notice the word choice:  love, spend time, seek, and dwell.  What do all these have in common?  Long term, time, effort!  You can’t really LOVE someone in five minutes.  Why?  Love takes time.  You can’t call spending five minutes with someone quality time.  If you lost something/someone, and you are seeking after it, then you’re going to spend as much time as it takes to find it, right?  And finally dwell.  Dwell is like a house–a long term residence.  You don’t buy a house when you’re only expecting to live in that area for three months.  You buy a house when you know you can dwell in it.  What’s the point of all this?  God wants ALL of you, and giving it all takes time.  So TAKE the time to know, love, and surrender it all to Him.

“…searching for a heart that is desperate.”  Like I said before…we’re lazy!  I think we’ve forgotten what desperation looks like.  Here are a few dictionary definitions of the word desperate:  having an urgent need, desire, etc.; extreme or excessive; making a final, ultimate effort; giving all.  I like those last two.  Picture this:  You’re in a jail cell with your hands bound in long chains.  The guard dropped key just outside of your cell.  The chains are just long enough that you can get two inches away from the key with your foot.  You strain and strain and strain to stretch your body far enough to drag the key inside, but you just can’t get to it.  You do this for several hours.  Your wrists hurt, and may possibly be bleeding and chaffed.  Perhaps you were desperate enough to sprain or break your wrist.  Who knows.  Desperation is work.  It’s not fun to be desperate!  Also, desperation requires you to put your pride down and humble yourself to ask for help, look crazy, or whatever.  We need to get desperate!!

“Love me with your whole heart…serve me with your life…let go of your idols….”  You know why I really love this song?  If you’ve gotten this far, then you must really be interested in what I have to say, so thanks!  Everyone who quit reading because it’s too long have left not knowing the REAL reason I love this song, so give yourselves a hand.  I love this song because I know that I’m not doing ANY of the stuff the song is telling me to do!  However, it really is my heart’s desire to love God with my WHOLE heart, serve Him with my WHOLE life, and let go of ALL my idols!  So, I figured if I keep singing this song, and listen to it over and over and over, maybe one day it will really get inside me and I’ll start giving it all.  If you’re shocked, then you’ve missed it.  Missed what?  Everything I’m about!  You’ve put me on some pedestal that I never asked to be on and now you’re shocked that I’m admitting that I’m not doing everything I’m supposed to do.  Who do you think I am?  Superwoman??  Anyway, I love this song because its lyrics are what I want for my life.  And seeing as how my heart is deceitfully wicked and God gave me freewill, then these lyrics will forever be my heart’s cry for holy living.

“All of you, more of you, wants it all today.”  God doesn’t really need any one person, but He really really really wants us to get it together so His will can be done through our lives.  I love it.  This God who made everything–and I mean EVERYTHING…this God who  formed human life out of dirt and his own spit and breath…this God who brings people back to life…all powerful God wants ME?!  What kind of foolishness is that???  It’s soo amazing!  If that’s not enough to break you down, then I don’t know what is.  However, it’s just wonderful that GOD would want me, love me, and call me His friend.  The LEAST I can do is give him my WHOLE life–not just the parts I’m done with, or the parts that I want Him to fix.  ALL OF THEM.  My LIFE!  So…whaddaya say?  Will you give Him it all…today?

BONUS MATERIAL:  Me singing this song!  YAY!  Yall don’t expect this every week now, ya hear?!  LOL  :-p

What are your thoughts on this?

