Music Mondays #3: Friend of God by Israel & New Breed

Friend of God
by Israel & New Breed

Verse
Who am I that You are mindful of me
That You hear me when I call
Is it true that You are thinking of me
How You love me
It’s amazing

Chorus
I am a friend of God
I am a friend of God
I am a friend of God
He calls me friend

Bridge
God Almighty
Lord of Glory
You have called me friend

This is such a simple song, but it has a powerful meaning!  In the same vein of last week, it’s absolutely ludicrous to think that God Almighty–the Lord of Glory–is even thinking about me, but has the nerve to call me His friend!  I know why He does that because He says that a slave does not know what the Master is doing, but He shares His plans with His friends.  I know all that, and I understand what He’s saying, but still I don’t understand!  I went to my sister’s church today, and her pastor was urging the saints to go past what they feel and really worship God.  He was saying that we were too comfortable with God when we need to be more desperate.  He talked about the woman with the issue of blood was desperate enough to get down on her knees, crawl through the crowd, and reach out and touch Jesus’ robe.  Although that was probably very humiliating for her, she desperately needed a blessing from God and she would do anything to get it.  Isn’t it awesome that this same God who is powerful enough to heal her by just touching a thread from His robe is the same one who wants to be friends with YOU?!  IT’S AMAZING!  I could go on and on about how cool but really crazy it sounds for Him to call me His friend, but I won’t.  Just think about it and let it sink in.  See if it changes your attitude towards life.

 

What are your thoughts on this?

