Brain Washed Robots

This morning, I was praying and thinking about the way I live my life, and I said that everyone can’t do things they way I do them–they couldn’t handle it!  I can barely handle it!  It’s only by His grace that I have been able to maintain the standards He set because, left to myself, I would have messed things up long time ago.  Then I started thinking about how a lot of people think that Christians are a bunch of brainwashed robots.  You know what I say to that?  Heck yeah!  With all the crap that goes through my head, I NEED my brain washed on a daily basis.  Think about it.  We live in a world that glorifies misogyny, illicit sexual relationships, murder, drunkenness, alternative lifestyles, disrespect, and deceit, but CHRISTIANS are the ones that are brainwashed??  The world could stand to be reprogrammed.

I remember when I first discovered what Psalm 37:4 really meant.  I, like the rest of moderately Biblical literate world, used to think that this was the Santa Claus clause.  You know, if I do what God says, then He’ll give me whatever I want.  I don’t know what God looks like, but I’m pretty sure He’s not a fat dude in a red suit!  Do you know what that scripture really means?  It means that if you delight (indulge, consume, make glad) yourself in the Lord (the things He says to do, His ways, His plan) then HE will PLACE in you your desires.  So, that means that if you make it your business to make God smile, then the things that you desire you didn’t even come up with those things.  Your life is truly not your own.  To be perfectly honest, I used to not like that.  Having some control issues in my life, I was like…man…I can’t even have my OWN desires??  What’s up with that?  I can’t even come up with a good idea on my own???  However, now that I think about it, that’s probably a good thing.  I remember my early college years being a very stressful and frustrating time of my life.  I was searching and seeking God for my lot in life.  I knew that I was created for something huge, but I had no idea what it was.  I felt listless and like my life was irrelevant.  What’s the purpose of existing with a purpose?  The only things that I ever wanted to do with my life was get married and have kids.  What happens after I can cross those off the list?  Life probably would go back to being irrelevant.  Why do I mention that?  I needed my life to be reprogrammed!  My life was meaningless before I accepted God’s terms for my life, and you ACCUSE me of being a brain washed robot?  I THANK GOD that He took control of my life because mine was going absolutely nowhere fast.  I mean, just to think of the things that I desire now…nobody but the Lord could have thought of such things!  People always that I dream too large.  Hey…I serve a God who is larger than life, so how small did you really expect my dreams to be??  I have large dreams that came from a large God!

The sad part about all of this is that you don’t have to be a non-believer to experience the listlessness in your life.  There are plenty of Christians, unfortunately, who have not delighted themselves in the Lord, therefore God has not placed His desires in them–and they wonder why their life sucks!  It’s no wonder we have so many Sunday-only Christians!  We’re a bunch of lazy bums who don’t study the Word enough to really understand what it means and it will take for us to live a life that is totally yielded to God–please notice I included myself in that bunch because I’m talking to ME too!

Based on Psalm 96 - singing a new song together

All I’m saying is that living a lifestyle of worship, purity, and surrender–what God really wants–takes work.  We have to do more than just go to church once per week, listen to a message that we never revisit, talk to God as we’re falling asleep at night, halfway read two scriptures before dashing out of the door in the morning, and expect things to be different in our lives.  God is not whore that we can just leave the money on the dresser and leave.  God loves quality time!  Let us be more intentional about embracing and delighting our God not just so He can give us our desires, but because we love Him and He is more than worthy of our praises, worship, and time.  Delight yourselves in the Lord!

What are your thoughts on this?

