A Secret Society

Being a Christian is somewhat like being a part of a member’s only club.  There are certain things you just will not have access to, or insight on, unless you are one.  However, the membership is open to whoever would like to join!  Just go to the front office (your knees in prayer), agree to the terms and conditions (confess), and pick up your member’s only jacket. Well, it’s more like member’s only full body suit (Eph. 6:11-17).

Being a Christian is also somewhat like being a member of a secret society at times.  Let’s say there is a room with 20 people in it.  I know we always say that we are in the world, but not of the world,

but the fact is that we’re not aliens lol.  There’s no way you can look at all 20 people in the room and pick out the Christian(s).  We look like everyone else, and the member’s only jacket is figurative, of course.  However, secret societies have discreet identifiers so the members can recognize each other.  It could be a secret hand shake, a code word, or whatever.  Now, of course being identified as a Christian shouldn’t be something that you try to hide (and we’ll get to that in a minute!), but in this example with the 20 people, how would you know?  I think one of the coolest things that happens to me is discovering a brother or sister in my midst.  Someone will say something that puts my antenna up, and, after a brief conversation, we both recognize that we’ve got the same Daddy!  I love it when that happens because I often feel alone wherever I go.  Not physically because I know God is with me, but there is generally no one around with whom I can really connect with.

I was waiting for my class tonight, and I saw this happen to two guys.  But, since I was eavesdropping on the conversation, I have discovered I have two brothers in the class as well!  So, one guy was reading a book, and the other guy says, “…so you’re a reader?”  They started talking about books and reading.  One guy was obviously a reader, and the other wasn’t.  After a while the one who was not a reader said, “I only read my Bible.”  Without missing a beat, the reader started talking about a book he read that was awesome that the non-reader should read.  I believe it was Desiring God by John Piper.  I haven’t read this book, but I know Piper’s work, so it has to be good.  Anyway, they had this whole conversation about free will and predestination–out in the open, in front of everyone!  I was totally enjoying this experience.

How many of us would have gotten past the “I only read my Bible” statement?  I love how these two brothers were going back and forth unashamed about their God.  I thought to myself, “Could I have been in that situation?”  Would I be concerned about the people around me?  Would you??  The fact of the matter is that some of us think that we are in a secret society for real!  If our society had a theme song, it would NOT be This Little Light of Mine!  For us to have a Father who is so strong and mighty we–His children–are so weak and timid, and it’s disappointing.   The guy who was the non-reader was on the pro-predestination side, and he said something that was important for his argument and also important for Christian life period.   He said although God has chosen His sons and daughters, we don’t know who they are.  So, we still need to go and reach the lost because we have no idea who is chosen and who’s not.  The point of this post is not to confirm or deny predestination, but to say that if we’re all scared of what people might say or think of us, then who is doing all of the going and reaching the lost?  Many of us are not pulling our weight in this family, and we need to be ashamed.

American modern-day Christians sadly have the “us four and no more” mentality.  We’re saved, we’re going to Heaven, and that’s pretty all we are concerned about.  That is not what God saved us for!  This reminds me of a song by Babbie Mason called What in the World.  Check out some of the words:

If we were not loved to love

If we were not touched to touch

If we were not led to lead

If we were not fed feed

If You were not sacrifed so we could have new life

Fuller and deeper than before

Then, Lord, what in the world have You saved us for?

I don’t think there is too much more to say after that!  I’ll close with this.  In the words of the Fred Hammond & RFC, “Arise!  This is the final hour.  Arise, you soldiers of the King!  Arise!  Put on your holy armor, for the gates of hell shall not prevail!  Arise!  The Spirit says arise!”

2 thoughts on “A Secret Society

What are your thoughts on this?

